HOW ABOUT A SPICY OATMEAL RAISIN COOKIE?

GOOD EATING, PLANT-BASED, WHOLE FOOD

ckies1

Many of my plant-based, health-conscious recipes have been experimented on and perfected over the last dozen years and my oatmeal raisin cookies are no exception. I have always loved the cookies, but even more now that I make them with my own recipes. Using other peoples’ recipes, no matter their experience, are not an option for me. Half the fun comes with making a better recipe that I as well as others love.

It is so not true that a whole foods, plant-based diet is boring with only rabbit food. Vegans may starve themselves or just eat junk food, processed food, sugary and fatty food, but my eating approach goes way beyond that as you’ve probably realized by now.

My recipes are exciting, bursting with great flavor from quality ingredients, some of which will need to be found in a natural foods store, the organic or gluten-free section of a grocery store, or online. They will not spoil, cause food poisoning, give you chemicals, antibiotics or growth hormones, and last a long time for less financial expenditure than an animal-based diet.

They will always help you lose fat and provide much more fiber, nutrients both macro and micro, and feel and look better. Just ask my co-author about that!

My oatmeal raisin cookies have to begin with Hazelnut flour. It’s my favorite baking flour and I’ve tried nearly all of them over the years. Either other flours are not very good-tasting or too heavy or not nutritious enough so that I need to add a lot more sweetener or spices or something, but my cookies with Hazelnut flour always turn out nutty delicious as well as light and nutritious. The only other main flour I will use is Almond meal.

I also find that including tapioca flour helps make the cookies keep their shape and consistency just right, but only in the amount given in my recipe. A little too much gives it a spongy taste and too little makes the cookies a little too soft.

The following recipe uses vanilla-flavored Cultured Coconut Milk or yogurt for the first time and I really think it’s more delicious than the almond or soy milk I’ve been using. Normally I would use the unsweetened kind and add stevia extract, but I picked it up by mistake. Feel free to use unsweetened, non-dairy yogurt and add stevia extract to taste (probably a scoop or less)..

SPICY OATMEAL RAISIN COOKIES

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. I use a cookie sheet with permanent parchment paper, which works very well without greasing a pan and is a fantastic bargain .

In big bowl mix together:

3 1/4 c. Hazelnut flour

3/4 c.. tapioca flour

1/4 c. hemp protein powder (I love Nutiva brand)

2 1/2 c. old-fashioned rolled oats (not instant, but steel-cut oats is ok, I suppose)

2 tsp cinnamon or cardamom

2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp seasalt (not table salt)

Mix and add:

2 tablespoons milled flaxseed gelled in 6 tablespoons filtered water (takes at least 5 minutes)

1 c. chopped walnuts or your favorite nuts)

1 c. raisins slightly boiled in filtered water (save water if you change recipe and need moisture)

2 tablespoons brown rice syrup (3 if you have a real sweet tooth) or honey if necessary

1/3 c. Coconut Yogurt (Cultured Coconut Milk)

2 large. ripe mashed bananas (or equivalent unsweetened applesauce or chopped apples)

1 tsp real vanilla

It takes 11 minutes in hot oven, but you may prefer them more brown. I hope you’ll love them as much as Heather, our friends, and I do!

One thought on “HOW ABOUT A SPICY OATMEAL RAISIN COOKIE?

  1. On the other end of the eating spectrum, I don’t add or delete a single thing from this recipe. It tastes great and the family loves these cookies. Even the 3 year old likes them, and he is a somewhat picky eater.

    Like

Leave a Reply

