GOODBYE SUGAR, HELLO BETTER SWEETENERS!

GOOD EATING, PLANT-BASED, WHOLE FOOD

Hello, so good to see your cheerful faces! I’m going to start off talking about sweeteners, followed by my latest fudge recipe that’s been perfected over the years (I still experiment and almost never make the exact same recipe) and Heather’s experience with the fudge.

I grew up not craving much sweetness in my food. I was a country girl who loved garden-fresh produce and was strong, healthy, and slender. I still am healthy and slender, but my strength has been compromised only by the increased muscle tone or spasticity caused by a partial spinal cord injury. I’m sure my whole foods, plant-based diet has helped me to stay healthy and slender and also to use a walker. Sugar, not a whole food, is a toxin that causes inflammation and I don’t miss it.

Instead I prefer using either or both pure stevia extract and brown rice syrup. Both are great options for diabetics and people trying to regulate their blood sugar and lose fat. They don’t cause inflammation, either, or headaches and sugar craving like worthless, nasty sugar substitutes.

There are many forms of stevia, which is a herbal, non-caloric sweetener, but if you use more raw forms you’ll get more of a licorice aftertaste. Using pure stevia extract has almost no aftertaste if you don’t overuse it, which is easy to do because it’s so sweet as Heather will further explain. I also love brown rice syrup, a milder alternative to honey, and dark molasses sometimes in baking.

I’m one for preventing health problems because treating them is so much harder. Losing accumulated fat won’t solely depend on using a healthier sweetener, you need a better diet altogether and exercise you enjoy, but it definitely will help and quickly.

Besides a better sweetener my fudge uses non-caffeinated, naturally sweeter carob powder. I’ve tried using dark cocoa, but it’s much more bitter and needs a lot more syrup or stevia. Please keep that in mind if you make my fudge. Toasted carob powder is my favorite, although there is a raw form that just doesn’t seem to have the great, chocolatey flavor as the toasted.

Good luck with making the fudge or using my sweeteners!

COCONUT YOGURT FUDGE

I make this with a double boiler and a 9″ glass pie plate.

1 cup carob powder

1/2 vanilla-flavored coconut yogurt (cultured coconut milk)

2 Tablespoons coconut oil

Stir together until oil melts and mixture forms a ball sort of. Add:

1 Tablespoon dark molasses

3/4 cup slightly boiled raisins

1 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup tapioca flour

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

2 1/2 scoops stevia extract (comes with tiny scoop)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 teaspoon seasalt (please do not use table salt!)

Make sure it’s stirred well and holds together somewhat like a ball or bread dough maybe. If you think you need more moisture, save some raisin juice in case, or use more yogurt. Dump and smooth into ungreased pan and refrigerate overnight.

If you don’t like raisins, you might prefer prunes, figs, mashed banana, or sweetened cranberries for example. If you hate nutmeg try a teaspoon of cardamom or cinnamon. I’m not sure what would work as well as tapioca flour for firming the fudge. I think arrowroot is good as I’ve used it in the past, but tapioca flour has better flavor probably. Other nuts can be used, but I love walnuts.

Please leave a comment if my blog has been inspiring to you. Thanks for the visit!

Leave a Reply

